Seeking the Natal Genius II

Almost two weeks ago, the Saturday after Mercury went direct, I made a second attempt to contact my natal genius, whom I will hereafter refer to as ZG.  In order to do so I drew a second, less inspired, Triangle of Conjuration and performed the operation at the appropriate Hour of Night.  The sigil and name are blacked out for obvious reasons.

triangles of conjuration

The Triangle on the right is the first; the left is the second.

In one sense, the evocation went well: I was able to produce a much clearer and more iconic drawing of ZG, and even to establish a certain degree of mental/psychic rapport.  She’s a strange creature, whose imagery and iconography come from no particular time and place (though, given my own nature, what surprise in that?): bearing the wings ubiquitous of spirits in the Mediterranean and Near East, with a horned crown and clawed feet that remind one of the powers of Bronze Age Mesopotamia, a multiplicity of limbs evoking Indian gods, and a face which resembles something out of Hebrew tradition.  The outline of the picture below was produced through a sort of automatic drawing, where I asked the spirit to appear to me and then waited to see what turned up on the page; the colors were added for aesthetic sake, but were not received during the communication.scan0002

ZG

On the other hand, the conclusion of the experiment was less than ideal: ZG used that psychic contact to inform me clearly that the approach I was taking was not working and would not work.  Essentially, she dismissed me, and I am left with the relatively little information I acquired through the initial contact.

Is this a normal rate of progression?  Am I doing something seriously wrong, or am I just so used to unusual degrees of success that I don’t know what to do with a more “natural” learning curve?

Most importantly, I’m still left with the primary question which led me to phrase my evocations the way I did: what the fuck do I do with my natal genius now that I’ve found her?  Given her Saturnian nature, should I ask her for help exercising discipline, especially in terms of time management?  Since she is Scorpio, shall I enlist her aid in my plots and schemes?  As much help as those will be, what little I have seen others write on the matter seems to imply that the nature of a natal genius is far broader than these things.  Can anyone share some personal anecdotes or published sources for me?

2 Comments

Filed under art, witchcraft

2 responses to “Seeking the Natal Genius II

  1. Natal genii are helpful for figuring out what to do in one’s life, materially and spiritually. They know everything about your incarnation and life, and can help you figure out where best to spend your talents, time, and energy. Getting their agreement on something is basically an assurance of success in a matter; conversely, their disagreeing on something is a denial of success, suggesting that you should try something else to avoid waste or minimize harm. They can help out in figuring where success lies and how to obtain it, what areas of life one should focus on and how to make those areas smoother, and obtaining K&CHGA/Divinity. They can help out in influencing or setting up certain situations in your life, but it seems like they can’t do anything you weren’t supposed to do to begin with. They can help you judge whether a certain matter is important to you or worth your time.

    However, genii are specific to individual lives/incarnations; my own genius told me a story about how we sorta “fall into their laps” as we fall down into the material realm for incarnation, becoming their wards in the process. Consider how their names are obtained: they’re derived from the five hylegical places of the natal chart. In this way, the natal genius can be considered to be an egregore of the natal chart, and can tell you anything the natal chart can describe about your own live (i.e. everything important) and vice versa. However, since the genius is an individual spirit with its own will and mind, they’re more capable of acting for, with, or against you depending on what you’re trying to accomplish.

    Although genii are often described as solar (due to their emphasis of life and self-knowledge), my own genius has described himself as not-quite-solar and yours is apparently heavily Saturnine. That said, try sticking to hours of the Sun on Sundays for conjurations, and try using a standard Triangle/Table of Art instead of a Saturn-emphasized one (your second circle looks pretty awesome). The first time I conjured my genius after getting a rough go-ahead inspiration from meditation, I couldn’t get much; the dude was cloaked and hooded, and I couldn’t hear anything he was trying to tell me, though he appeared to hear me. The second time and onwards, I got more success. In my own experience, although elemental/planetary angels feel like they’re “descending” into the conjuration area, my genius feels like it manifests from the same level or plane I’m on. Although other people have reported that their geniuses prefer other names and conjuration rituals or the lack thereof, my own genius is comfortable with the chart-derived name and standard Trithemius conjuration ritual, so I just stick to that.

    • Thank you for your insight, and for sharing your own experiences. That does help clarify things a bit.

      As I mentioned, I chose the day and hour of the Moon for the first attempt because, well, I’m a witch first and foremost, and the Moon is how we roll. 😀 I went with the day and hour of Saturn for the second round because she told me her nature was Saturnine. I’ll take your advice and try the day and hour of the Sun and a more traditional Triangle for my next bid. The first two triangles were produced more by intuition than artifice, so let’s try going the other direction.

      On an interesting side-note that I didn’t find room for in the post, her “voice” reminds me of a guide who left me a couple years ago after it had taken me waaaaay too long to make any real progress on my path. That guide appeared as a male wolf with black fur and glowing red eyes … but I was also 16 when I made that first contact. One wonders if this is a coincidence.

Leave a Reply

