Well, Then, Son … You’ve Got a Condition …

Back in the day, when I was fully-steeped in the energetic model of magic, aura work was how I began and ended any magic I did.  Hell, more than half the time—especially during the Basement Years, when getting a finger-hold on my sanity was the main object of my magic—it was the Work.  That started to slip during the Ceremonial Experiment: the banishing work had about the same effect, and the kinds of aura work I knew were actually counterproductive, as the ceremonial work was making some radical and positive changes to my aura.  It’s slipped further since starting on Project Null.  Actually, that’s a lie: since starting Project Null, the cognitive dissonance I’ve experienced between the various Wiccan schools I was originally trained in, the things I learned during the Ceremonial Experiment, and the Chaos Magick theories I’ve encountered on aura-work, basically amounted to a paradigmatic train wreck.  I mostly managed to hold things together through the end of Christmas Break.  But there’ve been some oddities.

The first oddity was a sort of psychic “sore” at the small of my back.  I first noticed it while doing some banishing work with Aradia toward the end of break.  As we cleaned it out, it felt like it was linked to my Root chakra.  I’m not bad at doing psychic/aura healing work on other people—I can even manage a certain amount of physical healing—but I’m shit at doing it for myself.  The angles are off, I guess.

Time passed, I came back to school, and the “sore” persisted, thought never as bad as it had been at first.  Until I went to do my first serious banishing work at January’s Full Moon, and discovered a …. giant, black, slimy lamprey-worm-thing attached to the wound in my aura.  Not really certain what it was or what to do, I pulled it off, threatened it, and threw it across town.  The “sore” finally closed up altogether, and I went on with my life.  I noted the whole episode, but never have been able to determine if the thing was an astral varmint, the work of one of the two psychic vampires I’ve crossed in the last six weeks, the product of my own Chaos Magick-induced delusions, or something else entirely.

Then, this last week, as I was recovering from a mundane illness I discovered a new “sore” on my aura.  This one lays about where my neck joins my back, but doesn’t seem to correspond with any of my energetic centers.  Squirming around in the psychic wound were a mass of writhing black worms in a sick column down to the original wound: miniature versions of the larger one I’d already thrown off.  Local spirits have proven ineffectual at helping me clean out the mess—on or two smaller spirits even appear to have been injured by the things—although the manifestation of That One God who dwells at the on-campus chapel was surprisingly willing and able to help dispose of the ones I could extract (it seems to have taken it rather personally that such vermin would move into its territory).

I’m hoping that tonight’s performance of the Stele of Jeu will fix the problem.  Barring that, that when I finally “create”* my guard-dog servitor tomorrow night, it will be able to deal with the problem (since that is what it’s going to be made for, after all).

In the mean time, has anyone else had an experience like this?  Any advice?

*I’m not entirely certain, given the way things have been leaning, that I’m actually going to end up creating a servitor so much as recruiting a local spirit for the task.  The distinction, however, is largely moot.

12 Comments

Filed under witchcraft

12 responses to “Well, Then, Son … You’ve Got a Condition …

  1. VD

    Hi there-

    I am a relatively new follower of your blog, but have enjoyed reading about your adventures. It sounds like somehow you are getting re-infected with psychic parasites. You might do some divination to determine whether these are being “put on” you by someone (the vamps you mentioned maybe), or whether you are perhaps getting them when venturing to a certain locale in the physical/spiritual realms. It is also possible some type of spiritual work you are doing may be attracting them. It is interesting you experienced a mass at the back of the next, as in my experience many people hold a lot of tension there, which in turn can cause a “weak spot.” One remedy you might try first taking a spiritual bath (per your tradition(s), and then clearing yourself with smoldering wormwood. Not only has it been used medicinally to cast out parasites, but also to cast out malignant entities. You might find juniper a useful addition to the smolder as it will also add a protective element. I would then go over the psychic centers and points you have found these entities on with some sort of sealing agent (holy oil, salt water, etc) making a sealing sign to close up any gaps. Typically after work like this, I personally find it best not to engage in any work with spirits (other than my own already established familiars/HGA/HS) nor any psychic or spiritual work except that aimed at strengthening/healing my spiritual body for a week or two after (and of course divination into the cause). Anyways, I hope this was of some help.

    Best-
    V

    • I really appreciate the advice.

      Psychic parasites is a very good description of what I’ve been experiencing. The really strange thing–and the only reason I’ve entertained the possibility that I might be under attack–is that I haven’t gone anywhere new physically or psychically since I finished up the Seven Spheres in Seven Days thing last year. Doing divination is, of course, the obvious answer; unfortunately, that sort of divination is not something I’ve ever been trained in, or ever been able to find good DIY-training sources for.

      I will absolutely give the wormwood a shot and keep my spiritual journeys very, very close to home for the next weeks.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I’m glad you enjoy the blog.

      • VD

        No worries at all and glad it was of some use ( I ramble sometimes lol). Really one of the simplest things you could do divination wise is to ask your chosen tool (tarot or playing cards might be a good choice for this if your comfortable either), what the cause of the underlying condition is, then pulling one card. Depending on the card, ask for clarity and pull more. You could also use a simpler oracle like a pendulum (or use the two in conjunction, pendulum to determine yes/no and cards for more details, etc.) The reason I like using the cards for this is they also offer a chance to get advice on steps to take to clear up the problem. When I do things like this, I also try and clarify with the oracle whether the “curse” is self generated or being caused by an outside force. Other methods exist of course, using eggs, oil and water to test for the evil eye, etc. depending on the culture and what gets your juices going.

      • I’m a huge fan of Tarot, actually. I’ll even go so far as to say I’m a decent reader when it comes to other people’s mundane problems and my own general forecasting. But something about divining for my own specific problems, though, particularly magical and romantic ones, really trips me up: I’m uncertain how to frame the question and interpretation suddenly gets really, really fraught. I suppose the answer to that is probably just “practice”, though, so I will be sure to give this a shot before starting on tonight’s Esbat work.

  2. VD

    I used to be the same way actually lol. Mary K. Greer’s book “Tarot for Yourself” helped me immensely years ago. A new book I enjoy that is along a similar vein is “Tarot for Life,” by Paul Quinn. Best of luck at the esbat!

  3. I’m curious as to what tech you used to heal the original weak spot. I’ve got a patch on my right shoulder that, while it hasn’t gotten infected in ages, never really stopped being a weak spot.

    • Well, see: that may be part of the problem. I originally mistook it for a blockage and, when that was removed, went on like nothing was wrong. And, while I’m pretty good at working on other people’s auras, and used to be better at working on my own, right now I can’t quite see what I’m doing. So … I’ll let you know when I figure it out?
      @_@

  4. Until I read your post, I’ve never seen a description so on-target to fit what happened to me while studying for grad school finals. While I was physically undernourished and underslept, I noticed a “psychic sore” (great way to put it) and what I saw in my addled state was as you stated: ” giant, black, slimy lamprey-worm-thing” tho mine had a vaguely female, human head appearance at the end feeding on me.

    I never did anything specifically magical to deal with it, never found too much discussion of such a parasite. So, I guess I have nothing too constructive to add, other than “me too.”

    Great Blog.

    cheers,

    provenant

  5. Pingback: I’m Still Not Certain Enough of What Happened To Come Up With Pithy Header | Journey Through The Obsidian Dream

Leave a Reply

