Tables and Triangles

The  sacred geometry of conjuring circles has proven one of the most surprising difficulties in my study of ceremonial magic.  Even as someone who can draw well, there’s something about concentric circles brings out more of the OCD than the artiste.  So I started playing around with my computer.

This first image was designed with a Trithemian table of practice in mind, but I haven’t quite mastered circular text in either the GIMP or Inkscape, the two image programs I can afford.   In my studies of ceremonial magic, freely available electronic templates were of immense use to me, so I offer this one here in the public domain for use by anyone for anything.  It’s not perfect, but it’s better than anything I could find royalty-free.  Enjoy

Triangle in double circle

This second is the first stage of a prototype based on the Trithemian table, using the Agrippan planetary characters rather than the names of the archangels.  My thought is that I, or anyone else, might substitute the elemental or directional powers with whom they are most intimate for the four angels Trithemius prescribes.  I share it here for private use, and I would be delighted to hear about any experiments performed with it.

triangle of art with characters

This third and final table that I’m going to share today is the one revealed to me by the powers of Saturn during the Seven Spheres in Seven Days challenge.  I share this, too, for personal experimentation only.

saturnian triangle of conjuration with notes

4 Comments

Filed under art, scholarship, witchcraft

4 responses to “Tables and Triangles

  1. Circular text is very simple in the open source software (free speech and beer) inkscape. In the basic tutorials provided by the project, there is a lesson on how to do it.

    Glad to see someone else is experimenting with alternate names on the Trithemius table. Skyllaros has done one up for his druidry practice – http://bloodandbone.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/revival-druidry-inspired-triangle-of-art/

    The planetary characters was very clever. In my own practice, I’ve moved away from working generic elemental/planetary energies without a mediating spirit. Since I have relationships with the Arbatel spirits, they cover the planetary ring, and the four Kings fit the elemental portion.

    Cheers.

    • Thank you very much! I had not seen that Skyllaros post, and I will look up the Inkscape tutorials. I’m glad you liked the project.

      Interestingly, I’m moving in the opposite direction regarding generic energies: I want to be able to conjure raw planetary power the same way I do raw elemental power.

  2. I love it! Now I want to try this out next time I do a conjuration, perhaps affixed with the characters of the Zodiac and those of the Behenian fixed stars outside the planetary character ring. Since they cover everything under the stars, so to speak, the elements and anything worldly, earthly (not earthy), and subterrestrial would be covered by them, too. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

